Unauthorized Use of a Motor Vehicle
Accused of Auto Theft in Brazoria County?
Contact The Law Office of Sandra J. Oballe, Ask For Sandy.
An arrest and subsequent conviction for auto theft, or unauthorized use of a motor vehicle (UUMV) as its referred to in Texas law, can result in a lengthy prison sentence and stiff fines. In some cases, auto theft accusations are the result of a loaned vehicle not being returned on time, a misunderstanding, or a domestic dispute. In other instances, auto theft charges can stem from joyriding or traditional theft.
No matter the circumstances leading to the criminal charge, there are options available to defend the accused and to fight conviction. Every charge is defensible. If you need to talk with a lawyer in Angleton about fighting criminal charges related to unauthorized use of a motor vehicle, contact Attorney Sandra J. Oballe or another experienced Brazoria County criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible.
The Law Office of Sandra J. Oballe is a full-service criminal justice law firm which takes on misdemeanor and felony criminal cases. If you’re ready to discuss your case or schedule your 100% confidential consultation, call 979-265-6800 or message the law firm by contact form.
Unauthorized Use of a Motor Vehicle
Auto Theft & the Texas Legal System
There’s no specific statute in the Texas criminal code which addresses the theft of an automobile in wording. However, a person can be prosecuted for the crime of unauthorized use of a motor vehicle or they could be prosecuted under regular theft guidelines.
Unauthorized Use of a Motor Vehicle is classified as a state jail felony per Texas law. If convicted of UUMV, the defendant can be sentenced to up to two years in a state jail facility and a fine of up $10,000.00.
Depending on the circumstances of the incident, the value of the vehicle, and the skill or lack thereof of defense counsel, the offense could be classified as theft, which could be good or bad depending on the value of the item or items stolen. Below, we’ve included a chart to give you a better idea of how a theft charge might be classified as opposed to UUMV.
|Under $50||Class C Misdemeanor
||Up to $500 Fine
|$50-$500||Class B Misdemeanor
||Up to 180D County Jail - $2K Fine
|$500-$1,500||Class A Misdemeanor
||Up to 1YR County Jail - $4K Fine|
|$1,500 - $20,000||State Jail Felony
||180D-2YR State Jail - $10K Fine|
|$20K - $100K||3rd Degree Felony
||2-10YR TDCJ - $10,000 Fine
|$100K - $200K||2nd Degree Felony
||2-20YR TDCJ - $10,000 Fine|
|Over $200K||1st Degree Felony
||5-99YR TDCJ - $10,000 Fine|
Looking for a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Angleton?
Contact Attorney Sandra J. Oballe for Aggressive Legal Counsel
If you’re facing criminal charges for the theft of a car, truck, or other motorized vehicle, you’ll need legal representation to give you the best chance of avoiding conviction. My office defends individuals accused of both felony and misdemeanor crimes and has had numerous successes getting cases dismissed and charges reduced.
If you’re convicted of a theft offense you’ll not only have to serve some form of jail or prison sentence, but you’ll also be saddled with a criminal record which can create economic difficulties for you in the future. Even if you’re guilty as charged, it doesn’t mean that you have to serve prison time or that you can be convicted of the offense in the court of law. Whether you’re innocent or guilty of the charges against you, you’ll need legal representation.
I’m Attorney Sandra J. Oballe. If you’re in need of legal representation, my office will help you. I offer free initial consultations, I show up in court on time, and my office provides reasonable legal fees and flexible payment options. To get started, call my office at 979-265-6800.