Charged with Family Violence?
Call Sandra Oballe at 713-524-6656.
Domestic Violence and family assault cases are serious crimes that can have a devastating impact on the life of the person accused of the offense.
When police are called out to a residence because of a 911 call related to domestic assault, someone will be detained, cuffed, and taken to jail. Usually, it’s the man or the domineering party unless someone was injured, in which case the aggressor, or person who caused the injury, will be arrested.
If you or a relative was the subject of an arrest in connection with a claim of domestic violence, I’m interested in hearing from you.
I’m Attorney Sandra J. Oballe, a criminal-defense lawyer based in Angleton, Brazoria County, TX. Whether falsely accused or rightfully charged, you need to be aware of your options. You don’t have to plead guilty or assume you’re going to convicted. Call my office at 713-524-6656, so we can discuss your case.
Understanding Domestic Violence Cases
It’s Easy To Be Arrested for Family Assault
Someone is going to jail! The last feeling a police officer or sheriff’s deputy wants to experience is the responsibility for a death that they could have prevented. An officer’s worse nightmare is finding out that a homicide occurred after a domestic dispute at an address which they left only hours ago. For this reason among others, when police respond to a domestic assault call, someone is detained and arrested. Then there’s the law.
Texas Law & Domestic Assault
Definitions & Potential Consequences
The “domestic” in domestic violence charges should be taken to mean violence between two people in any form of familial relationship. Domestic violence can include relatives and love interests, whether they’re living with you or not.
For example, if a man and a woman are in a relationship, but they live on the opposite sides of town or not in the same house, any assaultive offense between the two is considered domestic violence. The same applies to relatives who live under the same roof, or once did; if a person is a victim of assault perpetrated by a family member, the police will arrest the person thought to be the aggressor and charge them with domestic violence.
Criminal Penalties If Convicted of Family Violence
In general, “Domestic Assault” charges are classified as a Class A Misdemeanor. If the defendant has a recent history of numerous domestic assaults on their criminal background, their case may qualify for enhancement to a Third Degree Felony.
In Texas, Class A Misdemeanor convictions can result in up to 1-year county-jail time and a fine of up to $4,000.00 for the defendant. Persons convicted under Third Degree Felony guidelines may face up to 10 years TDCJ and fine not to exceed $10,0000.00.
Accused of Domestic Assault in Brazoria?
Call Angleton Criminal Defense Lawyer Sandra J. Oballe
If the government accused you of a crime and intends to pursue a conviction, you’re entitled to a fair trial, a strong defense, a healthy review of the witnesses, and a skeptical eye on the evidence.
I’m Attorney Sandra J. Oballe. I’ve practiced criminal law in Texas since 2003, and no one is a more fierce defendant of Texans than I am.
If you stand accused of a felony or misdemeanor criminal offense in Angleton, Pearland, Alvin, or elsewhere in Brazoria County, TX, our legal team will fight for you.
To contact the Law Office of Sandra J. Oballe about your case, call us at 713-524-6656 or send us a message using our contact page.