Accused of Leaving an Accident Scene in Houston?
Call on the skills of Sandra J. Oballe, a Top Rated Defense Attorney
Per Texas law, any person involved in any form of vehicular accident is required to stop and give their insurance and contact information. If someone was injured, the law requires the driver to stop and render aid or summon medical help by calling 911 if needed.
Otherwise, they’ll be criminally charged with Hit & Run, or, as formally referred to in Texas statutes, Failure to Stop and Render Aid (FSRA) or Failure to Stop and Give Information (FSGI).
Leaving The Scene of an Accident
A Bad Connotation
Criminal charges of this magnitude are serious, and are often met by a predisposed jury. They’ll see you as a person who hit an innocent person and left the scene of the accident in a cowardly fashion.
Often, defendants aren’t aware they hit anyone.
If you’re in a situation like this, and you want to work with a lawyer who knows how best to approach such a case, contact my office at 713-524-6566.
I’m Sandra Oballe, a criminal-defense attorney since 2003 with extensive experience fighting for the rights of the accused.
I WILL HELP YOU.
Criminal Penalties if Convicted of FSRI or FSGI
The severity of the criminal penalty for a conviction related to a Hit & Run will vary based on the severity of the incident, any aggravating factors, and any related criminal history of the accused.
Class C Misdemeanor Hit & Run Cases
If you Failed to Stop and Give Information after a minor auto accident that caused less than $200.00 worth of property damage, and was convicted of the charge, you’ll face punishment under Class C Misdemeanor guidelines. This is a non-jailable criminal classification with criminal penalties that are limited to a $500.00 fine.
If the court decides to assess penalties under Class B Misdemeanor guidelines you’ll face up to 6 months county jail, and up to 1 year in jail for Class A Misdemeanor offenses.
3rd Degree Felony Hit & Run Cases
If you failed to stop and give your information, or failed to stop and render aid, and a person was hurt or seriously injured (an aggravating factor), you’ll be charged under Texas’ 3rd Degree Felony classification.
A 3rd Degree Felony conviction in the state of Texas carries a potential prison sentence ranging from 2-to-10 years in a state correctional facility with a fine of up to $10,000.00.
If the person died, the Office of the Harris County District Attorney may pursue a conviction under 2nd Degree Felony guidelines, which raises potential prison sentencing to 20 years.
State Jail Felony Hit & Run Offense
If you were charged with a hit and run offense, and the victim only suffered minor injuries, you may be charged under State Jail Felony guidelines which, if convicted, carries a penalty of 180 days to 2 years in a state jail facility with a fine of up to $10,000.00.
If you’re accused of hitting a person, or another vehicle, and you were identified by eyewitnesses or by a security camera, you’ll need an experienced attorney to defend you. Our legal team can help you.
Call Attorney Sandra J. Oballe for Help
Experienced Texas Lawyers for Hit & Run (FSGI & FSRA) Cases
Attorney Sandra J. Oballe is on your side if you or a loved was arrested, jailed, and charged with a Hit & Run or other assault related offense. Since 2003 I’ve worked hard to earn my reputation as one the top Houston & Angleton lawyers for state and federal criminal charges, the least of which being cases related to minor hit & run car accidents.
In a number of cases in which I’ve served as lead counsel, my clients had no knowledge of the accident until they made it home or to another destination and noticed damage to their vehicles.
In other cases, there was no vehicular damage at all, and our clients had no idea they had committed vehicular assault until they were surprised by Houston Police Department officers and asked to “assumed the position”.
I’ve also represented people who were admittedly guilty, but afraid to stop their vehicles due to their fear of being in an area in which they felt their safety was at risk, while others willingly sped away from the scene of their accidents in fear of retaliation from nearby mobs.
Sometimes the old saying, “at the wrong place at the wrong time”, is true more than ever.
Jurors can understand this level of reasoning when being presented with it from an attorney who has respect for them and the important investment they’ve made to complete the important duty they provide for our “free” society and our people who are caught in the grasp of its enforcers.
If you’re in a situation like this and need an experienced criminal defense lawyer in your corner, contact my office today at 713-524-6656 or 979-265-6500. I provide legal representation in Harris County, Brazoria County, Montgomery County, and Fort Bend County, TX.